Skip To Main Content

Desktop Schools Popup

Select a School

Special Education

District 196 Special Education is committed to equitable opportunities through high quality practices to accelerate growth for all students.

Equitable opportunities to accelerate growth

We provide a full continuum of services for students with disabilities. Our Special Education Department serves approximately 4,500 students who range in age from birth through 21. All schools in our district provide special education services with licensed special education teachers and offer intervention supports, evaluations and special education instruction.

District 196 offers a wide range of service delivery models. Most students receive services in their neighborhood school and, when possible, in their general education classroom setting. 

Special Education is specialized instruction specific to the student at no cost to parents. The instruction is designed to meet the unique needs of a child with a disability. Children must meet specific criteria set by the State of Minnesota and the Federal Government to receive special education services. Special Education is an instructional service, not a place. 

To receive special education services, a student must first be evaluated and meet state criteria. Once qualified, an Individual Education Plan (IEP) is developed for the student.

Center-Based Staff

Tammy Morett

Tammy.Morett@District196.org

School Phone: (651) 683-6990

Voicemail: (651) 683-6969 Ext. 83912

Office Hours: 8AM - 11AM

Kathleen Amstutz

Kathleen.Amstutz@District196.org

School Phone: (651) 683-6990

Voicemail: (651) 683-6969 Ext. 84853

Office Hours: 8AM - 11AM

Kristen sellman-Sanchez

Kristen.Sellman-Sanchez@District196.org

School Phone: (651) 683-6990

Voicemail: (651) 683-6969 Ext. 82750

Office Hours: 1PM - 4PM

Resources Teachers

Sam Roy

Samantha.Roy@District196.org

School Phone: (651) 683-6990

Voicemail: (651) 683-6969 Ext. 84629

Office Hours: 8AM - 11AM

Laura Tramonte

Laura.Tramonte@District196.org

School Phone: (651) 683-6990

Voicemail: (651) 683-6969 Ext. 84829

Office Hours: 8AM - 11AM

Lori Olson

Lori.Olson@District196.org

School Phone: (651) 683-6990

Voicemail: (651) 683-6969 Ext. 82373

Office Hours: 8AM - 11AM

Interventionists

Carol Wekesser

School Psychologist

Carol.Wekesser@District196.org

School Phone: (651) 683-6990

Voicemail: (651) 683-6969 Ext. 82758

Office Hours: 8:30AM - 11:30AM

Sean Nash

Occupational Therapist

Sean.Nash@District196.org

School Phone: (651) 683-6990

Voicemail: (651) 683-6969 Ext. 84816

Office Hours: 9AM - 12PM

Marcy Noodell

Speech Therapist

Marcy.Noodell@District196.org

School Phone: (651) 683-6990

Voicemail: (651) 683-6969 Ext. 84850

Office Hours: 8AM - 11AM

Anna Tauer

Speech Therapist

Anna.Tauer@District196.org

School Phone: (651) 683-6990

Voicemail: (651) 683-6969 Ext. 82337

Office Hours: 8AM - 11AM

Support Paraprofessionals

Kyle Borak

Kyle.Borak@District196.org

School Phone: (651) 683-6990

Voicemail: (651) 683-6969 Ext. 84878

Allie Knight

Allie.Knight@District196.org

School Phone: (651) 683-6990

Voicemail: (651) 683-6969 Ext. 84836

Rachel Vickery

Rachel.Vickery@District196.org

School Phone: (651) 683-6990

Voicemail: (651) 683-6969 Ext. 84846

Vicki Lindsey

Vicki.Lindsey@District196.org

School Phone: (651) 683-6990

Voicemail: (651) 683-6969 Ext. 84841

Mariah Brammer

Mariah.Brammer@District196.org

School Phone: (651) 683-6990

Voicemail: (651) 683-6969 Ext. 84881

Sue Hutcheson

Sue.Hutcheson@District196.org

School Phone: (651) 683-6990

Voicemail: (651) 683-6969 Ext. 84872

Cindy Zwart

Cynthia.Zwart@District196.org

School Phone: (651) 683-6990

Voicemail: (651) 683-6969 Ext. 84877

Robert Watson

Robert.Watson@District196.org

School Phone: (651) 683-6990

Voicemail: (651) 683-6969 Ext. 84818